Word Worthy Week

2

 In an effort to be more positive, once a week I will be posting highlights of my week and anything I am grateful for!  

My Pusher

Oh My Pusher…FUCK I love her! She is one of my best friends. She constantly tells me when I am wrong and she fights me to the death!  She corrects my mental state when it is faulting. She states things like “REALLY? You have that many views on your blog? I’m surprised…considering you are the laziest blogger!”. And although, this may sound like an insult, it is not when it is coming from her. She knows what it takes to get Johana to tinker and she understands the complexities that come with being my friend. She knows that I am always in my head and constantly reminds me to stop thinking and just “GET IT DONE!”. Mrs. Field, for this I am eternally grateful. And although at times, it looks like I do not want to hear it and I am not fully content…I want you to know that I am always very thankful in the end. Um…I love you….Bro?…No?…Airwrecka?

Oh Sweet Elizabeth! 

My friend Elizabeth is a strong woman. As a matter of fact what I love about her is she doesn’t put up with bullshit. Elizabeth has such a kind heart, she is so thoughtful that she brought me flowers this week, with every intention to cheer me up.  Thank you Elizabeth for the flowers, it really means a lot to me! I am so grateful to have you as a friend!

The Universal Language 

Living in Germany, I constantly run into the language barrier when trying to have a conversation. Actually, I feel lost all of the time, I talk with my hands in general, but when trying to explain something complex in German…I think…”Screw it…forget it”. In my small village, I have very friendly neighbors. They are so lovely and constantly invite my husband and I over for drinks and snacks. I find myself constantly trying to comprehend what is being said and repeating and asking “what does that mean?”. Since I do not understand they just give me shots of homemade schnapps and I say “OKAY” and end up really liquored up. This week, I had a very different experience. My neighbors have daughter, her name is  Natalie. Natalie is speaks enough English, and I speak very poor German, I could not think of a way to bond with her. I mean, she is half my age, we do not speak the same language and I am a hispanic city kid from Los Angeles…what could her and I possibly have in common? BUT Natalie is a smart kid and as I searched for Wi-Fi on my IPad, she noticed my music list (I like to call it “Joey’s Jukebox”…but whatever). We quickly began singing Beatles/Queen songs, recited lyrics to each other, and watched new artists on YouTube. Music, once again, has shown me that it is universal, no matter where you are from.

Parking Lot Birthday Song

We think birthdays are important. SO, it is no surprise that we love getting together with our friends for their birthdays. We love going out to dinner, ordering a few bottles of wine, smoking hookah, dancing and once we even went to Prague to celebrate (OH MAN…That is a story for another time). Saturday was our friend Joao’s birthday. We spent the evening eating sushi at Haru (Remember, the Sushi restaurant from “Lions and Tigers and Sushi, Oh My day at The Nuremberg Zoo“?) with our friends Joao, Harper, Angela and Willy P. After a late dinner, Joao, Jaime and I went out to smoke hookah and after a few hours of drinking, chatting and smoking we decided to call it a night. On our way home, my husband said “JOAO….WE DIDN’T GET YOU A CAKE!”. SO at 3 AM, we stopped at a Shell gas station to find anything that resembled a pastry. Jaime came back with a donut and sang Happy Birthday to Joao in the Shell parking lot. When Jaime finished Joao took a bite and said “I love you Bro”. Moments like these between Us and our friends make me cherish our friendship even more.

Do you have any highlights to share? Or anything you want to mention that your grateful for? I would love to hear them! 

Ciao!

Johana

One thought on “Word Worthy Week”

  1. Airwrecka loves you too! I don’t think there’s anyone else in the world that could put up with me the way you do. To always being your blog minion:)

Leave a Reply

