Denver

“I have based my whole life on sentiments: whether they are gut feelings, the goose bumps or feeling weak at the knees. I believe that there are people who visit locations not based on gaining a cultural experience, but working on checking off a box on their bucket list. I’m not one of those people. Art, music and words feed my soul and help me believe in what scientifically can not be defined.”   -Johana 

(Excerpt from my personal statement to the University of Denver)

 

At first, I didn’t believe it myself, then it felt like if I publicly shared it, without the actual acceptance letter it would be flaunting, so I decided to share it with close friends and family members. Finally I made it Facebook official, BUT then I thought, “if I write it (like REALLY write it, with deep thought and emotion) it would not come true.” So, I did what I did best…not write at all. Yes, I opted to be the “lazy blogger” that Airwrecka proclaims I am. But NOW that I have received emails upon emails with loads of financial aid paperwork, thousands of dollars worth of tuition being charged and many international phone calls between DU and I, and the arrival of my letter of acceptance, it seemed like right now is the most appropriate moment to announce that I have been accepted for the degree of Master of Liberal Studies in Art and Culture at the University of Denver.

I am a roller coaster of emotions walking into this. I am excited, primarily because I never thought that I would get in and some of the courses are right up my alley. I am nervous. I am nervous because I know that I can not screw this up. I need to be on my “A” game at all times, and I will be the first to admit…i’m not very good at that! As Airwrecka says “Johana thrives in the chaos!” and this is 100% factual . Finally, I am extremely proud of myself. When I was a kid, I never thought that I would academically make it this far.

For the first time, in a very very long time, I am not lost. I am not completely found, but I feel as though I have been pointed in the right direction, and that direction is leading to success.

Ciao,

Johana

3 thoughts on “Denver”

Leave a Reply

