Dia De Los Muertos

Artist: Monika Suska
Artist: Monika Suska

Learning about our culture is essential. As a Salvadorian-American, we don’t get to learn about this in school in America. Most of these teachings are based on what our families teach us. I can say this in all honesty, I know very little about Salvadorian history, but I know even less about El Dia De Los Muertos (The Day of The Dead). Most likely because my family does not celebrate this holiday. This year, I feel different; I feel as though it’s necessary. My beloved deceased family members need it. Not because it’s expected from me as a Latina, but because my soul needs it. Maybe since Judy recently passed but most importantly because my grandfather and I did not have a close relationship. I suppose you can call this a sense of complexed guilt, remorse and even having difficultly recollecting our time together. But at least, I can admit that shamelessly.

The people I will remember on this Dia de los Muertos are those that Jaime and I have loved dearly and profoundly.

Somehow I can’t help but question: Who are we suppose to blame when we aren’t close to those who are living? I blame timing; distance; money but above all…life!

Ciao,

Johana

Leave a Reply

